Banana Bread

I made a loaf of banana bread 2 nights ago, and it’s almost gone already!

Preheat oven to 350.

You need these dry ingredients in one bowl.

Put into a bowl and mix together.  2 cups flour, 1 & 1/2 tsps baking powder, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1/4 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 1/8 tsp nutmeg.

Set aside.

Now get 3 mashed bananas in a bowl. Add 2 beat eggs, 1 cup sugar,  and 1/2 cup oil. Blend.

Now pour that mixture into dry ingredients bowl. Mix really well.

Now you have to pour into a greased loaf pan.

Bake anywhere from 35-60 minutes, depends on your oven. Do the toothpick method. When the toothpick is clean, cake is done. If getting to dark, cover with foil the last 10 minutes or so.

And voila!

If you like nuts in your bread, add 1/2 cup of crushed walnuts to the mixture before baking.

This is my favorite treat to bake. My mom always made it when I was small as a treat, and it was something we all looked forward to. I guess it’s one of my comfort foods.

Now I wonder of you, what is your favorite treat to bake, and why?

6 Comments »

  1. This hits close to my heart. When my daughter visits or we travel to see her we always make banana bread. She loved it as a child and I guess it is a tradition….thanks for the happy thought today…Michelle

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Laura West. Laura West said: Currently Browsing: Banana Bread « Fredalicious Eat's http://bit.ly/chMe6Q […]

  3. Janet F Said:

    Thanks for the suggestion of adding honey. The next time I make Banana Bread I am also going to add some cinnamon and nutmeg like you did.

    It is one of my comfort foods too!

  4. I made comment to Janet,

    If you are looking for a healthier way to eat the bread with less artificial sweetener, use 1 cup honey instead of 1 cup sugar. It gives it a beautiful texture, and flavor.

    Happy baking!!

  5. Bookjourney Said:

    Oh I have just read though your posts and all the food – yum! Now I am soooo hungry 🙂

  6. KQDoan Said:

    Your banana bread looks sooo good. Thanks for coming by Blessing Reflections.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

