Mild Chili from a Spicy Girl

Hello foodies!!! Sorry it has been while. Today I am sharing with you my amazing mild chili, (which can also be re-used as a leftover, for a hearty Bolognese Pasta Sauce).

I do mine in the slow cooker. Here is what you need.

Using lean ground beef, and a cut up onion, brown in a pan.

Now add chili powder. You have to cover the mixture with a sprinkling. Do not drain when finished frying.

In your slow cooker, add tomato sauce. (I use my sauce made from Roma tomatoes and basil, and jarred.) Then put ground beef, grease and all into the cooker. If you use lean, there won’t be much. If you drain, you lose the flavor you put in.

Now add one can of kidney beans. Drain them though.

Now add chopped celery and chopped green pepper.

Add 1 tbsp chili powder, 1tbsp salt, 1 tsp pepper, and 1tbsp crushed chili flakes.

Now stir well, and cook on high setting for one hour.

After one hour, add 1 can of tomato paste, and turn down to low setting. Cook for minimum 3 hours more.

Serve with fresh bread and enjoy!!

3 Comments »

  1. bermudaonion Said:

    When I’ve tried chili in the crock pot, it’s come out too watery. I never thought to add tomato paste. It looks delicious!

  2. That looks like a great idea to do it in the crock pot and my hubby loves chili….Michelle

  3. Debbie Said:

    I like to add crushed tortilla chips and use my immersion blender. It’s amazing how quickly everything thickens up. I only make chili in the slow cooker now. We love how the flavors develop. Come join me for Crock Pot Wednesdays whenever you can.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

